Planning Commission


The Planning Commission is comprised of seven members that are appointed to a three-year term. The Planning Commission is the township body that was created through the authority of the Michigan Planning Enabling Act to make, adopt, extend, add to, or otherwise amend and to carry out plans for the township.

The Planning Commission is responsible for developing the township Master Plan and the township Zoning Ordinance that protects and enhances the public health, welfare, and safety. Ultimately the decisions and recommendation made by the Planning Commission must embody the goals and objectives of the community in such a way as to enhance the quality of life for those who live, work in, or visit the community.

Consistent with the Open Meetings Act; Board meetings are currently being held electronically to comply with Health Department orders and guidance, and to reduce the risk of spreading disease at a live meeting.

The October 21, 2021 Planning Commission meeting packet has been published.

To participate in the October 21, 2021 Planning Commission meeting as a member of the public:

  • For videoconferencing, visit the Zoom meeting link and enter password: pittsfield
  • Call (301)-715-8592 or (646)-558-8656 (toll free) and enter meeting ID 896 0412 4507 , and password: 0841733151

Agendas, Packets & Minutes

All agendas are subject to revision at the time of the meeting. Meeting notices will be posted in compliance with PA 267 of 1976 as amended (Open Meetings Act), MCLA 41.72a (2) (3), and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). View Most Recent Agenda


  • Ann Harris, Vice Chairperson
  • Yameen Jaffer, Trustees Liaison
  • Roland Kibler, Township Resident
  • Matthew Payne, Chairperson 
  • George Ralph, Township Resident 
  • Deborah Williams, Secretary
  • Stanley Young, Township Resident


  • 6:30 pm
  • First and third Thursday of each month
  • Morris Hall at the Township Administration Building, located at 6201 West Michigan Avenue

Additional Information

To learn more, view the Planning Commission Bylaws 

Individuals with disabilities requiring auxiliary aids or services should contact the Clerk's Office 3 business days prior to the meeting. The Clerk's Office can be reached at 734-822-3120 or via email