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Instructions for Transient Merchant License 
Incomplete applications will NOT be accepted 

Submit the completed Transient Merchant License Application to the 
Pittsfield Charter Township Clerk’s Office with the following: 
 $25.00 NON-REFUNDABLE Application Fee

(Cash, check or money order payable to “Pittsfield Charter Township”) 
Or 

 Valid County Veteran’s License1

 Two 2” x2” passport size photos, (including head and shoulders) taken within the
last 60 days.

 Health Department or Agriculture Permit (if peddling pre-packaged food)2

 Copy of Michigan Sales Tax certificate (If exempt, attach a copy of a Michigan Sales
and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption, Form #3372)

 Copy of Michigan Driver’s License or Michigan State Identification Card

 Letter of Employment from Employer stating employee name, start date of
employment and duties as transient merchant (if employed).

For the Sale of Christmas Trees only: 

 Letter from the Building Department indicating the location has the appropriate
zoning.

 Letter of permission from the property owner.

Submit completed documents to: 
Pittsfield Charter Township Clerk’s Office 

6201 W. Michigan Avenue Ann Arbor MI  48108 

The Township Clerk’s Office will process the application by forwarding the application to 
Department of Public Safety for approval.  Public Safety will conduct a criminal background check to 
determine if there are issues that would prevent applicant from obtaining a peddler’s license. 

1 If applicant is an honorably discharged member of the armed forces of the United States who served at least 180 
days of active duty in the armed forces or has a service connected disability as a result of that service AND is a 
resident of the State of Michigan, the applicant must provide a copy of a valid Veteran’s license to qualify for 
licensing fee waiver.MCL 35.441, et. seq. 
2 State of Michigan Food Law of 2000 exempts retail businesses that sell pre-packaged foods that are “not 
potentially hazardous”. Not potentially hazardous includes canned goods, dry goods, candy and other packaged 
items. If you sell milk, sandwiches, meat, eggs, frozen dinners, or other similar perishable food, you are required to 
obtain a license. See http://www.michigan.gov/documents/MDA_FoodEstablishmentLicensing_41803_7.swf for 
more information. 

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/MDA_FoodEstablishmentLicensing_41803_7.swf
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APPLICATION FOR TRANSIENT MERCHANT LICENSE 

Date of Application:  ___________________ 

Full Name:  __________________________________________________________________________ 
First Name Middle Last Name 

Date of Birth: ____________________ Place of Birth:  ________________________________________ 

Sex:  ________ Social Security Number:  ___________________________________________________ 

Height: _________ Weight: _________ Eye Color: _________ Hair Color:  ________________________ 

Scars / Marks / Tattoos  ________________________________________________________________ 

Address (Business):  ___________________________________________________________________ 
Street Address 

 ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
City State Zip Code 

Business Phone #: (_____)___________________ 

Address (Residential):  _________________________________________________________________ 

Residential Phone #: (_____)_______________ Cellular Phone #: (___) __________________________ 

Operator’s License # or State I.D. #: _________________________ State:  ________________________ 

Michigan Sales Tax License #  ____________________________________________________________ 
If exempt, attach a copy of a Michigan Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption, Form #3372  

Nature of business:  ___________________________________________________________________ 

Description of goods or services to be sold:  ________________________________________________ 

Where is product manufactured:  ________________________________________________________ 

Where is product stored:  _______________________________________________________________ 

How will delivery be made:  _____________________________________________________________ 

http://www.pittsfield-mi.gov/
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If employed, attach letter of employment 

Employer Name:  _____________________________________________________________________ 

Employer Address:   ___________________________________________________________________ 
Street Address 

 ____________________________________________________________________________________ 

City State Zip Code 

Length of time that license is requested:  ______ Days  _________ Month 

Vehicle: Color  ____________Year  _______ Make:  ______________Model:  ____________________ 

Vehicle License Plate #: _________________________  State of: __________________ 

Have you ever been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or violation of a Municipal Ordinance? 

Yes  No 

If “yes”,  list ALL charges, newest to oldest (attach additional sheet(s) if necessary: 

Date  _________ Location  ___________________ Offense  ___________  Penalty  ________________ 

Date  _________ Location  ___________________ Offense  ___________  Penalty  ________________ 

Date  _________ Location  ___________________ Offense  ___________  Penalty  ________________ 

Date  _________ Location  ___________________ Offense  ___________  Penalty  ________________ 

I hereby certify that the forgoing information is complete and true. 

Signed:  __________________________________  Date: ____________________ 

Signature of Applicant 

 _________________________________  
Printed Full Name 

STATE OF MICHIGAN 

http://www.pittsfield-mi.gov/
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COUNTY OF WASHTENAW 

On this _____ day of _______________, 20____, before me personally came the above named 
applicant and made oath that he/she has read the foregoing application and knows the 
contents thereof, and that the same is true of his/her own knowledge. 

___________________________, 

Notary Public, ______________________________ County, Michigan. 

One this ______ day of ____________, 20___ 

Appeal Process –  
Section 18-2 (h); Appeal. Any person aggrieved by the action of the township clerk in the 
denial of an application for license or revocation of a license under this Ordinance shall have 
the right of appeal to the township board. Such appeal shall be taken by filing with the 
township board within 14 days after notice of the action complained of has been mailed to 
such person's last known address, a written statement setting forth fully the grounds for the 
appeal. The township board shall set a time and place for a hearing on such appeal, and 
notice of such hearing shall be given to the appellant.  

Notice of the hearing for revocation of a license shall be given in writing, setting forth 
specifically the grounds of complaint and the time and place of hearing. Such notice shall be 
mailed, postage prepaid, to the licensee at his last known address at least seven days prior 
to the date set for hearing. 

Clerk’s Office Use Only 

Application Fee: ___________  License #:  _____________________________  

License fee is $20.00/Week; $40.00/month; $100.00/year 

License Fee Paid: $ _________________ Date:  _____________________________________ 

http://www.pittsfield-mi.gov/
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